Twitter Privacy Settings

Twitter is a status-update network. Users “tweet” content that is under 140 characters including text, photos, videos and links to other sites. Twitter hashtags allow you to tag posts so you can see what other users are saying about similar topics. It boasts 271 million active monthly users with 500 million Tweets sent daily.

Twitter encourages starting conversations and sharing information in a public atmosphere – as reflected in their initial/basic security settings. However, you can easily adjust your Twitter privacy settings by visiting the “Security and Privacy” tab.

Our Twitter privacy settings tutorial includes direct links to some account settings — you must be already logged into Twitter to be correctly directed.

How to make your Twitter profile private

Make your profile private so only your approved followers may see your tweets, retweets and follower/following lists. Below is an example of what your private account will look like to non-followers.Private Twitter Account

To make your Twitter account private, visit the settings page by clicking on your icon-sized profile picture on the top right corner of any Twitter page and select Settings.Twitter Privacy Settings Newsfeed

From this page, use the navigation tabs on the left to select Security and Privacy. You may access this page directly by visiting Twitter.com/settings/security.

Scroll down until you see the Privacy header. There you will notice an option titled Tweet Privacy.  Make sure this option is enabled (blue check box).Protected Tweet Swetting

Click save at the bottom of this page to ensure the changes are made.

How to change your Twitter password

Change your Twitter password by visiting the settings page. Visit the settings page by clicking on your icon-sized profile picture on the top right corner of any Twitter page and select Settings.Twitter Privacy Settings Newsfeed

From this page, use the navigation tabs on the left to select Password. You may access this page directly by visiting Twitter.com/settings/password.Twitter Password

You must enter your old password before submitting any changes.

How to enable dual-factor authentication on Twitter

Dual-factor authentication acts as additional layer of security against account takeover/hacking. It requires you to use both your password and mobile phone as verification methods when logging in.

To enable this feature, visit the settings page by clicking on your icon-sized profile picture on the top right corner of any Twitter page and select Settings.Twitter Privacy Settings Newsfeed

Select Mobile from the left navigation bar and add the phone number you wish to receive login requests from. You may access this page directly by visiting Twitter.com/Settings/add_phone.Add Twitter Phone Number

After your number has been entered, visit the security and privacy tab and enable Login Verification.

How to prohibit your tweets from appearing in search engines

By selecting Protect My Tweets in your Twitter privacy settings, Twitter will prohibit your tweets from appearing in search engine results like Google and Yahoo. For more information on enabling this feature, please see “How to make your Twitter profile private.”

How do I view my profile as someone else

Twitter does not allow this feature. However, if your tweets are protected, non-following will see this message when attempting to view your profile.

“@Username’s Tweets are protected. Only confirmed followers have access to @Username’s Tweets and complete profile. Click the “Follow” button to send a follow request.”

Your profile picture will still be visible to both followers and non-followers.

General Walkthrough: How can I control my privacy on Twitter? 

Visit the Twitter Settings Page
Visit the settings page by clicking on your icon-sized profile picture on the top right corner of any Twitter page and select Settings or visit www.twitter.com/settings.Twitter Privacy Settings Newsfeed

Account Tab
Use the account tab to adjust your username, email, and timeline preferences. You may also deactivate your account under these settings.

Security and Privacy Tab
Login Verification
Enable login verification to require all login requests be verified using your mobile phone. If you are notified of an unknown login attempt, change your password immediately.

To enable this feature, you must first enter a mobile number using the mobile tab on the right column of the security page. Once entered, revisit the security and privacy tab to complete the process.

Password Verification
Require personal information in order to reset your password. This can help prevent hackers from attempting to lock you out of your account by changing your password.

Photo Tagging
Select, “only allow people I follow to tag me in photos” from the tagging options.

Tweet Privacy
Enable Tweet Privacy to ensure the following:

  • Tweets are only visible to Followers; Users must request to “Follow” you
  • Tweets will not appear in Google or hashtag search
  • @Replies can’t be seen by users who aren’t following you
  • Your Tweets cannot be retweeted

Location Data
Turn your location off before each tweet. Under this setting you may also remove all location information you have previously disclosed.

Discoverability
Decide if you want to allow people to find your profile by searching your associated email address or phone number.

Direct messages
Disable the option to receive direct messages from anyone. Only allow followers to message you.

Password Tab
Use the password tab to change your Twitter password.

Mobile Tab
Use this tab to associate a mobile phone number with your Twitter account. This is required if you choose to use login verification.

Muted Accounts Tab
Review your muted accounts using this tab.

Mute is a feature that allows you to remove an account’s Tweets from your timeline without unfollowing or blocking that account. Muted accounts will not know that you’ve muted them and you can unmute them at any time. 

To mute a user’s tweets, visit their profile and click on the gear icon. This will bring up a drop down menu, select Mute from the options.

Blocked Accounts Tab
Review your blocked accounts using this tab.

Blocking prohibits particular users from viewing your profile or interacting with you in any way. Users are not notified when you block them.

To block a user, visit their profile and click on the gear icon. This will bring up a drop down menu, select Block from the options.

App Tab
Review the third-party applications you have granted account access to your Twitter account under the app tab. You may revoke their access at any time.

Return to Social Media Education Center