Gmail account holders: be aware of the latest sophisticated phishing attack targeting you. The malicious emails claim to be from Google and come with the subject line “Mail Notice” or “New Lockout Notice.” The email message indicates an email storage issue that you must rectify immediately by clicking the link provided. Once clicked, your account credentials are requested via a seemingly legitimate login page. Your information then gives hackers access to all your Google accounts: Gmail, Google+, Google Play and Google documents. How is this recent scam any different from the one that impacted Google users in March 2014? Changes to the characters that create the URL cause it to be largely undetected.
Learn more about how to spot this scam here.